Self-deception and Self-Betrayal …

It’s well known the events Egypt has been living lately …

During this time I wrote a small memo that I decided to keep from myself and never publish it, however, I’ll post small portions of it, and how I decided to transform, and what I decided to do next …

……….

Where I’ve been during this time? Well, I’ve chickened out, I even could have opened the international internet connections all over Egypt with the power and knowledge under my control without even being traced back, but I chose not to, justifying this to myself with various potential reasons …

………..

I betrayed myself, I’ve betrayed those who died for the sake of freedom and the free word, I’ve betrayed my entire generation …

………..

Yet again, I kept betraying myself, making endless loops of excuses so that I feel good in justifying this state of selfishness; busy, not having much time, too complex, not of much value, very tired and consumed at work, work being very boring, not liking what I’m working on (notice the irony and contradictions in these justifications) …

I’ve hesitated very much before writing this, but I feel that I need to confront myself with the ugly truth …

So, today, and now, the lies stop…

The very next day, I decided to go to Tahrir square, and be there, and I was amazed; life was like I never knew before…

I spent the night under the cold cloudy sky on the street, without cover, with a rock under my head as a cochin, and someone came to me with a blanket and asked me if I don’t mind if he could join me !!!

He gave me cover, and gave me part of his blanket warmth without even knowing my name !!!

So, I decided to become the voice of this beautiful generation, and educate everyone I know about politics, marshal laws, constitution, law, democracy, military, and why this regime must have left long time ago, and I’ll continue to do so in attempt to fix what the official media has spoiled in 18 days about 25 Jan revolution …

And I also decided to do some other stuff that I think might be useful, but I won’t say what they are because I have that nasty habit of not doing doing what I’m planning to do 🙂 …

Wish me luck … Cheeeers …

