Problems with my HTC Touch HD…

Hey there,

Yesterday I decided to test the new TouchFlo 3D on my HTC Touch HD, I saw its demo on youtube and it seems to offer better usability features and deeper integration within windows…

The only way I could get it installed is by flashing a “cooked” ROM, the guys on XDA-Developers are more than great…

But 1st I’ve some housekeeping to do…

Backing up contacts, settings, favorites, documents, call logs, and most important SMS messages…

I used to install Sprit Backup the HTC version, it’s available for free from HTC’s Touch Pro software downloads page, and I used to make backups with it, so I just make a fresh backup and went ahead installing this ROM, and the latest Radio

Everything seems OK and dandy, until I wanted to restore the backups…

The old installation used to have a password, after restoring the backup, the phone now wants to have the password in order to unlock, but it won’t accept the password at all, and now I’m locked out of my own mobile phone !!!!!!!!

I went ahead and re-flashed the old flash (i always keep the versions I use of any software) using the SD-Card method described here, and yes it also works with the OS flashes, not only the radio…

Restoring the backup again, this time on the same old version it used to be on, but still won’t accept the password at all !!!!!!!!

I googled all over the internet to find a way to restore the lost password, but no use, everyone just says to do a hard-reset…

I had a crazy thought while in the toilet (most bright ideas come in the toilet, everyone know this 😀 ), what if I set the password BEFORE attempting to restore the backup??

And guess what, it worked, I still want to backup my stuff, so I downloaded a freeware backup application called PIM backup, backed up all my contacts, call logs, etc, etc…

Now back to flashing the new ROM, all went smoothly, I also was able to restore all my files, call logs, SMSs…

Now I only have to re-install all the software I used to have all over again, but this is a cheap price to maintain a call log, and bunch of SMSs…

The bottom line, sometimes cheap/free solutions are better than commercial ones…

One Response

  1. Neat writing / i will come back:D

Leave a Reply

