Android on Palm Treo 680

I’ve always wished I can penetrate the embedded systems technology and market, I’ve been successful running Linux OS on embedded boards such as linksys routers, d-link routers, don’t tell me, I know this is no big deal, OpenWRT and DD-WRT got that running ages ago, but there’s always a 1st step for everything…

As part of this effort, I’ve been trying to port Google’s Android on my Palm Treo 680, and these images are the closest I could get, I’ve tried to discuss this with other guys trying to do the same effort, but they all seem to have lost interest in this, I did…

This is the linux kernel booting, and you can see (A N D R O I D _) and the very below of the screen…

And this is the ANDROID splash screen, the little guy keeps flashing endlessly, and that’s it…

These have been discussed on these two URLs on Android’s Porting mailing lists…

My post and another discussion

5 Responses

  1. HI guy,
    I would like to join you.
    So, can I share your effort till now?
    Then, let’s discuss further more.

  2. Hi 🙂

    I have two questions to you 🙂

    Is there any progress on palms?

    And is it possible install android on PalmOne Life drive with 4GB harddisk?
    I know, that there was successfully installed linux, so, I think, android can be istalled too?

    • As a matter of fact, I’ve lost all interest in doing anything on my Palm, got a lot of other stuff to do, also lost the motivation to continue porting Android to Palm…So, as for me, no progress, as for others, I really don’t know…

      Running android on a device requires a few things, kernel level drivers for almost eveything, and you also have to use the Android kernel trees, or anyother kernel tree that includes Android support…
      Also one problem is related to the frame buffer driver and how it should support (as far as I remember) double frame buffer to allow you to scroll left and right at the home page of android…
      The devil is in the drivers, I had no success getting wifi, bluetooth, audio to work even on plain linux (Debian, Angstrom), using the latest kernel trees…

  3. ths post is one really personal property one. Thank for shareing such great low-down out. Ill deff be driving by more times then i do so i an notice whats amazing!

  4. It’s actually a cool and helpful piece of info.
    I’m happy that you just shared this helpful information with us.

    Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

